Skip to main content

Global Leadership Awards Dinner 2019

The Council celebrated honorees who have dedicated themselves to bettering lives through philanthropy and activism at the annual Global Leadership Awards Dinner.
Frederick H. Waddell
Susan Schwab
David Miliband
Event Date

About This Event

Each year, the Chicago Council on Global Affairs holds a Global Leadership Awards Dinner to honor distinguished individuals for their outstanding achievements in the realms of international relations, global thought leadership, and philanthropy. This prestigious fundraising event is a highlight of the Council's annual calendar. Join the Council to celebrate these honorees who have dedicated themselves to bettering lives through philanthropy and activism.

Chicago Honoree

Frederick H. Waddell, Retired Chairman and CEO, Northern Trust

National Honoree

Susan Schwab, Strategic Advisor, Mayer Brown, LLP; Professor, University of Maryland; Former US Trade Representative

Global Honoree

David Miliband, President and CEO, International Rescue Committee

Co-chairs ($50,000)

The Crown Family
The Duchossois Group
GCM Grosvenor
John F. and Mary Manley
Northern Trust
Bill and Cathy Osborn
Pam and David 'Duke' Reyes
Robert R. McCormick Foundation
Patrick G. and Shirley W. Ryan and Family
Leah Joy Zell, The Joy Foundation

Vice Chairs ($25,000)

ComEd, an Exelon Company
William M. Daley and Bernadette Keller
Mary and Paul Finnegan
Cindy and Chris Galvin
Becky and Lester Knight
Liz and Eric Lefkofsky
Holly and John Madigan
Susan and Bob Morrison
Suzanne and Michael Moskow
Motorola Solutions, Inc.
Margot and Thomas Pritzker Family Foundation
Dona and Sam Scott
The Segal Family Foundation
Liz Stiffel
Ambassador Louis and Marjorie Susman
Catherine M. and Frederick H. Waddell

Patrons ($10,000)

BDT & Company, LLC
Rita and John Canning
Caterpillar, Inc.
Diamond Family Foundation and Evans Food Group
John R. Ettelson, William Blair & Company
Max and Jim Farrell
Jim and Karen Frank
Bon and Holly French
Goldman Sachs & Co.
Jim Gordon, The Edgewater Funds
Marvin and Elaine Gottlieb
Grant Thornton LLP
J. Douglas Gray, Marshall Street Capital
Harris Family Foundation
Mark Hoplamazian and Rachel Kohler
Ingredion Incorporated
Koch Family Foundation
Karen Z. Gray-Krehbiel & John H. Krehbiel, Jr.
Mayer Brown LLP
Andrew J. McKenna
Joan and Charles Moore, The Banc Funds Company
Northwestern Memorial Foundation
Pritzker Military Museum & Library
John W. and Jeanne M. Rowe
Dr. Scholl Foundation
Sidley Austin
Adele Simmons
The Vistria Group
Zell Family Foundation


More event videos:



About the Speakers
Frederick H. Waddell
Council Board Member
Retired Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Northern Trust Corporation
Susan Schwab
Former United States Trade Representative (2006-09)
Former United States Trade Representative (2006-09)
David Miliband
President and CEO of International Rescue Committee