Council on Global Affairs Announces New Cohort of Emerging Leaders

July 5, 2016

The Chicago Council on Global Affairs is excited to announce its eighth class of Emerging Leaders. The cohort of leaders from around Chicago, chosen by an independent selection committee from a highly competitive pool of applicants, will spend a year developing their understanding of global leadership and policy.

“The world is only getting smaller and more connected,” said Ambassador Ivo H. Daalder, president of the Council on Global Affairs. “Today’s leaders need a global perspective to succeed, and the Emerging Leaders Program selects the best and brightest in the city and empowers them to shape our shared global future.”

The class of 2017 will spend one year examining key issues that affect the world and impact the global city of Chicago. They will hear from experts on issues such as the global economy, international diplomacy, energy and the environment, including on an intensive trip to Washington D.C. to meet with senior government leaders. They will meet as a class and also work on individual projects with Council experts to examine key global challenges.

This year’s cohort draws leaders from the public and private sectors, such as The Boeing Company, Jones Lang LaSalle, Chicago Public Schools and the American Civil Liberties Union, among others. Notable Emerging Leaders alumni include Joshua Hale, president and CEO, the Big Shoulders Fund; Caralynn Nowinski, executive director and CEO, UI Labs; Jason Palmquist, executive director, Hubbard Street Dance Chicago; and Jeanne Gang, renowned architect and founder and principal of Studio Gang.

The Emerging Leaders program was established in 2008, under the guidance of Council vice chairs John F. Manley and Shirley Welsh Ryan, who provided generous support for the program.

This year’s class comprises:

  • Jailan Adly, Taproot Foundation
  • Khadine Bennett, American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU) of Illinois
  • Kam Buckner, World Sport Chicago
  • Michael Cassel, The Boeing Company
  • Patrick Croke, Sidley Austin LLP
  • Rebecca Delaney, Skidmore, Owings & Merrill LLP
  • Mark Fastabend, Prince Castle
  • Nicholas Gross, AAR Corp
  • Benjamin Hernandez, NuMat Technologies
  • Anna Maitland, Northwestern Pritzker School of Law
  • Luis Narváez, Chicago Public Schools
  • Hinsley Njila, Citi/Citi Retail Services
  • Jacob Plummer, Allscripts
  • Alisa Roadcup, Heshima Kenya
  • Kais Salhut, iConnect Technologies
  • Julie Steffen, Jones Lang LaSalle
  • Morse Tan, Northern Illinois University – College of Law
  • Kruit Trivedi, United States Attorney’s Office
  • Rebecca van Uitert, Fragomen, Del Rey, Bernsen and Loewy, LLP
  • Shawn Zhou, Deloitte Consulting